1st Time User – Calibrating Two Monitors

Home Forums Help and Support 1st Time User – Calibrating Two Monitors

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author

JReekes
    Participant

I’m a photographer, and have been calibrating my two monitors for many years. I shoot RAW 16-bit images and make all my corrections in Adobe Lightroom. My published work is sRGB JPG. What I want is for my monitors to be calibrated for accurate sRGB.

I just tried DisplayCAL this week but after a few attempts (and several hours) I’m not getting the expected results. Using a gray chart, in the light areas near white a color cast is clearly visible. One on monitor it’s green, and on the other it’s red. Also overall contrast is different on the two monitors.

Using the builtin app that came with my colorimeter, I get a slightly better result. Still, I can see a slight color cast. That’s why I’m trying DisplayCAL but I’m not getting rid of the color cast. If anything, I’m not even getting as good of a result using the 5 minute calibration app that came with the colorimeter. DisplayCAL is taking over a hour.

There must be something I’m missing. Here’s what I’ve tried.

1. Reset monitors to factory settings
    2. Use default settings of DisplayCAL (advanced options disabled)
    3. Selected Spyder4 as my instrument
    4. Mode is LCD (tried both generic and white LED)
    5. Correction Auto/None
    6. White and Black Drift were not enabled
    7. Run the calibration test and then set the R G B values manually on the monitor.

Attempting to set the monitor’s RGB values would cause brightness to drop. Increasing brightness would only cause the already too high color value to increase. Eventually I get the RGB colors to balance even if the brightness was below the target.

Wait an hour, and I get a color cast using the generated profile. Each monitor has a different color cast.