Profile created is incorrect (Spyder 5)

Home Forums Help and Support Profile created is incorrect (Spyder 5)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

Storm Engineer
    Participant

Greetings!

I’m relatively new to color management and still learning. I got myself a Spyder 5 Express to calibrate and profile my Acer P221W screen on my Arch Linux system.

I let DispCAL download the suggested correction for my screen, then proceeded to calibration and profiling. The calibration phase was a success. I used the hidden factory menu of my screen to adjust gains until the bars matched up pretty well.

However, after profiling was done and I loaded the resulting profile my colors turned all yellow/amber. I’m not talking about a slight discoloration, but completely off, like I was looking through a glass of tea. I tried profiling several more times to no avail. First I loaded it as a system profile in KDE, then I tried to instead use it only in Krita (color managed painting program), but the result was the same strong amber tint.

In the end I removed the profiles and hoped the calibration was good enough – it apparently was, as my artworks looked on the print shop’s Eizo screen and on the prints themselves exactly as I remembered them from my home screen.

Still, it bothers me why the profiles gave me such bad result, and I want to fix it. Also, if correct profiling has any chance to improve my experience on top of calibration, then I would like to exploit that.

So any ideas?

Note: The issue may be in KDE 5 itself, it’s still in development and has some issues. I can’t tell as I don’t have access to another system to test the screen and profile with.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

I let DispCAL download the suggested correction for my screen