New color calibration, got an I1Display Pro

Home Forums Help and Support New color calibration, got an I1Display Pro

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author

ZeroWalker
    Participant

So as title says i am new to all this.

I got an I1Display Pro and has run the X-Rite calibration software on my monitor (Dell U2415) and then i saved some color profile i guess it made from the calibration and have it activated (Windows 10).

But i don’t know more than that, i am clueless about all these color profiles, BT709 and whatnot, i just know about them,

but it’s limited to the basic rule of thumb where “709 = HD, 601 = SD”, which i know isn’t all true, but maybe you can see where my knowledge is at;P

So basically, i don’t know where to start, but from looking around it seems DisplayCAL is the way to go for calibration, but got no clue why either.

I am hoping by asking here i may be able to get some light on all of this and learn more about it, as well as understanding why i should do this or that etc:)

Thanks!

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

U2415 is a sRGB-like WLED IPS with a gamut a bit larger that sRGB/Rec709. You can use DisplayCAL yo create a calibration for white point and gamma, an d make a profile with the behavior of your screen with that calibration applied.

If you want “exactly sRGB” or “exatly Rec709 gamma 2.4” you’ll need one of these:
    -use software that supports software LUT3D like Resolve or madVR (or maybe Reshade but IDNK that tool). Use DisplayCAL to compute that LUT3D
    -use an extrnal LUT3D (hardware), you can use DisplayCAL to compute data of that LUT3D
    -use a monitor with LUT3D and a reliable HW calibration