Inexperienced User…struggling

Home Forums Help and Support Inexperienced User…struggling

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Michael Beecham
    Participant

Hey guys,

I hope you can help, as I’m starting to pull what’s left of my hair out over trying to calibrate my monitor.  I’ve using a Spyder 4, and trying to calibrate my Dell U2715 Ultrasharp monitor for photo editing. I started using the Spyder’s own software but, even with my untrained eye, I could tell the colours were not accurate. I’m now using the Spyder with DisplayCal.

I’ve tried calibrating a few times and it always seems like the greys are quite blue-ish. Admittedly, my reference point is Facebook…but only because, as a designer, I know what colours I should be seeing. The monitor is calibrated in a fairly dim room, using 6500k and I manually set the RGB tools on my monitor to get an accurate ‘green’ reading during calibration.

I’ve done some reading up, and have tried the following settings:

• White level drift compensation – enabled
    • Mode: LCD (White LED)
    • Correction: None
    • Interactive Display adjustment – Enabled
    • Observer: CIE 1931 2 degrees
    • Whitepoint: As measured / Reference: Daylight
    • White Level: As measured
    • Black Level: As measured
    • Tone Curve: Gamma 2.2 – Relative
    • Ambient Light level adjustment – Enabled. 13.80
    • Black Point correction: Auto enabled  / Rate 4.00
    • Calibration: High
    • Single Curve + Matrix
    • Testchart: Auto optimized

Is there anything obvious here that I should/should not be doing?

Thanks in advance.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

I’ve tried calibrating a few times and it always seems like the greys are quite blue-ish.

Compared to what? Actual greys (R=G=B) should be the same hue as white.

Admittedly, my reference point is Facebook…

There you go. Facebook doesn’t use true gray anywhere afaik, it’s a “steel” gray (blueish), RGB 144 148 156.