General purpose. Should I buy a colorimeter?

Home Forums General Discussion General purpose. Should I buy a colorimeter?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author

Millenium7
    Participant

I’ll first start by saying I have no experience with colorimeters, and little experience with display calibration in general

My main question is, is it worth it for me to buy a colorimeter to calibrate my monitors?

The situation is this. I have a MSI MPG341CQR which is already color calibrated from the factory and quite honestly looks fantastic, right next to an IPS it doesn’t give up anything in the colour department and has better contrast………….. in SDR. But in HDR its absolutely garbage, its massively red shifted to the point of white looking light pink. I contacted MSI about this and they insist the display is also HDR calibrated as per spec but either they forgot to load the calibration on mine or they are full of crap. Either way i’m left with the only option for actually using HDR to be a quick mess around with QuickGamma to generate an advanced ICC profile for HDR just to correct this red shift and try and get white closer to actual white. There are no adjustment options in the monitors menu’s when in HDR mode. The profile I made works well enough to achieve the result of white looking white and the net result is gaming in HDR is still quite good, but the colours are wrong. SDR content when in HDR mode looks very flat and dull like a reference panel would