Checking Simulation profile in the Verification gives me Low Contrast

Home Forums Help and Support Checking Simulation profile in the Verification gives me Low Contrast

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Nicola
    Participant

Hello, I’ve been looking at many discussions here in the past month and I think you are awesome, I learned a lot but there are still many things that I don’t quite understand since I’m new to profiling and calibrations.

I have an X-Rite i1Display Pro OEM (should be the same as Pro Plus) and a ColorMunki Photo to create matrix corrections. What I need to calibrate/profile are an Intel MacBook 16″ and a new LG 27UP850-W that supports hardware calibration. I will mainly use them for content consumption because I’m not an artist.

My calibration settings are 6504k, 100nits and a relative gamma of 2.4 (I want it accurate for a dark viewing environment) with black output offset of 100%. In profiling I select single curve + matrix and black point compensation.

My problem is that I don’t understand how set the verification properly:
    When I do a verification for my LG monitor, if I check simulation profile (“use simulation profile as display profile” is unchecked), selecting Rec709 or Display P3 with a custom gamma of 2.4 like the calibration settings, the report says I have a contrast ratio of just 650; if instead I uncheck simulation profile or if I choose tone curve unmodified, the contrast ratio goes to 1190.

In the reports I noticed that checking simulation profile with a custom gamma 2.4, the white point near black is closer to reference at 7000k maximum, while by either unchecking  simulation profile or by selecting tone curve unmodified, the white point near black is higher, to 9000k or 11000k.

My question is: