Calibrating Dell U2410 and U2414H using Colormunki Display

Home Forums Help and Support Calibrating Dell U2410 and U2414H using Colormunki Display

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

tox1c90
    Participant

Hi!

I’m new to display calibration and bought and X-Rite Colormunki Display for calibration and profiling of my Dell U2410 and U2414h. I directly started using Displaycal and not the original software that came with the Colormunki, so I just plugged it in and let Displaycal download the colorimeter corrections.

I calibrated both monitors to D65 Gamma 2.2, using the CCFL Wide Gamut IPS correction for U2410 and White LED for U2414H.
    The U2414H was in custom mode and I got to the desired white point by changing the OSD controls to R=100, G=100, B=98. Problem with this monitor: After calibration, colors look fine (judging by eye), but the SRGB coverage is only 88%, which seems rather bad because the monitor is advertized by Dell to achieve 96% SRGB.

Because I want to do everything in SRGB, the U2410 was set to its SRGB emulation preset. I followed an advice from some guys in the Dell forum and used the factory menu for OSD adjustment of the white point (because usually SRGB preset doesn’t offer RGB sliders). Problem here: The monitor is ~6 years old and it seems like the CCFL backlight has somehow aged. Almost every color has a slight yellowish tint which wasn’t the case when I bought the monitor (the pre-calibrated SRGB preset was nearly perfect at this time).
    So Displaycal wants me to reduce the R-slider quite a lot to get back to the desired white point. After doing this, pure white looks good again, BUT especially blue colors like in the default Windows 10 desktop wallpaper still look cyanish because of the yellowish tint.
    And it looks like the SRGB coverage is suffering a lot because the monitor achieves only 94% SRGB after calibration, which is bad because it’s supposed to do 100%.