white point calibration on different displays

Home Forums Help and Support white point calibration on different displays

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

youngsinatra
    Participant

Problem: I have three different displays and the white point seems to be not matching after calibration.

Hardware:

• Spyder X
    • MacBook Pro 16″ 2019
    • two AOC Q27P1

My use case:

I know the two external monitors are crappy and won’t do any good for photo editing. I have had access to a EIZO CS2740 and know what the difference makes. My main goal is to get my somewhat ok internal MacBook Pro display to have an accurate representation of colours. I am a hobby photographer and I know money can buy you better equipment but I am limited in my budget. The two external monitors are used ONLY for work. This means a lot of black text on white background. I simply want them to be similar to my internal monitor in terms of white point and have somewhat of an accurate color representation as it just annoys me otherwise (mainly the different white I see).

What have I done:

I tried to calibrate the screens with the default settings of DIsplayCal but came to the conclusion that I need to dive more into colours in general to get this right. So I searched on the internet and this forum. After that I chose my settings according to my screenshots.  (I selected WLED for the MacBook screen)

The results are good in the terms of color accuracy, at least that’s what Display cal tells me in the measurement report (also attached). But the white point is just off visually.

So I dove a bit deeper and found several forum posts here that discuss the white point. It is clear to me that a CCT of 6500K is a line and can be mangenta or cyan. But D65 should just be a point from my understanding. I read the paper by Andrew Rotney and got his book and read the chapters that seemed relevant to me.