Which device & other softwares do I need?

Home Forums General Discussion Which device & other softwares do I need?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

billycar
    Participant

I’ve researched Colorimeters and Spectrometers some, and still wonder which I need. I’m leaning towards the x-rite i1Studio, although its abit pricey. I am a Painter and Photographer who exhibits & sells  work,  presenting quality work. Self-taught when it comes to workflow needs.

Cost is an issue, but quality is more important.

I’d like to have professional workflow completeness for these devices:

MacPro3,1 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 3 GHz (Mac OS X 10.6.8)

Dell U2713H Monitor

CanoScan 9000F Scanner

Canon Pro9000 Mark II Printer

Sony KDL 55HX800 (and some day a 4K Sony) TV/Monitor

Suggestions welcomed.

Sample photograph and painting attached. Both require closer scrutiny with more focused monitor and printer needs.

• This topic was modified 5 years, 5 months ago by billycar. Reason: added additional softwares
    • This topic was modified 5 years, 5 months ago by billycar.
    Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Calibrite ColorChecker Studio on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

billycar
    Participant

I watched the argyll ColorMeter video (several times). Seems like that with the i1Display Pro (~$250) and the the argyll ColorMeter software (~$100) would meet my needs? Using the software to reduce the Delta of set values to monitor/TV values is one method.

But then there’s the ColorMunki spectrophotometer’s ability to create ICC profiles. I’m just guessing here … so many new terms and concepts.

Maybe too complex to resolve at this point of my studies. Any help appreciated.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

If you want to profile printers as well, then you need a spectrometer (like the ColorMunki Photo/Design, i1 Studio, or i1 Pro 2).

billycar
    Participant

Thankyou, Florian.