What is wrong with the 3D lut generation?

Home Forums Help and Support What is wrong with the 3D lut generation?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Roman Strijbos
    Participant

I’m sorry I posted in the wrong ‘general’ forum just over an hour a go. This post is the correct one.

I’m trying to calibrate my EIZO CG2420 but I can’t get the greys right. I followed this guide to the letter but i can’t reproduce the same results Macleod92 is getting.

I tried all the settings in the 3DLUT generation tab. Firstly the results were VERY off, almost if there was a glitch in the 3Dluts. Very big color banding in the blacks. When I downgraded to Argyll 1.8.3 (as I read somewhere on this forum) the results got better but still not where I would like them to be. I’m not very technical in all this but why isn’t displaycal able to adjust the greys with whitepoint scaling? The result I got using colornavigator as a base is OK but it’s far from ideal and I have the feeling that a proper 3DLUT could do so much more for my screen.

Any thoughts or solutions? What could be the problem?

The colornavigator calibration verification looks ok, but still not super good. I would rather not rely on this calibration for the rest of my profiling in displaycal.. I changed the colornavigator whitepoint to the correct whitepoint of displaycal btw.

Ill attach the two measurement reports.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Roman Strijbos
    Participant

Now that I ran a calibration with very few patches (175) I find that my accuracy is increasing. Very weird! Any thoughts?

MW
    Participant

Not sure about your issue but the 175 patch set uses a different implementation. It’s optimized for PC monitors that’s why it’s expected to give better results on your Eizo.

Vincent
    Participant