Two different monitors look much different after calibration

Home Forums Help and Support Two different monitors look much different after calibration

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Morgy
    Participant

Hello,

I am very new to this, I just bought the SpyderX and their software is pure garbage.
    Then I discovered DisplayCAL and I like it much better.

However, I tried to calibrate a Dell U2412M and Samsung S24C350 and the calibration ran fine, but after it they both look much different.

How am I able to match these monitors?

SpyderX Pro on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Since 2 displays may have slightly different color coordinates in RGB primaries, a match wil be limited to:
    -limited to color managed apps (and the precison of that app engine in your HW)
    -limited to colors that fall into the intersection of your 2 displays colorspace

Rememember to use WLED correction for colorimeter (WLED sRGB or LED standard or whatever name it has for SpyderX, do not se wide LED or widegamut LED) .
    If displays do not mach after you modify RGB gains in your monitor OSD to get to your calibration target, use visual whitepoint editor ( = visual match).

If they do not match given the two limitations I wrote, even applying visual match for whitepoint ,you may need a better measurement device.

Wire
    Participant

In what way do they look different?

White is different or overall color casts?

Gray cast?

Tonality varies?

Banding or clipping?

More / less contrast or saturation?

Are you profiling them as dual screen, or on different computers, or one after the other on same computer?

Are you comfortable with the use of settings in DisplayCal? Do you understand how settings get reused? Do you understand how to set whitepoint in the display itself using the measurement tool? Are you asking DisplayCal to set the whitepoint or using as measured?