TN panel has more saturation/contrast than IPS panel after calibration?

Home Forums Help and Support TN panel has more saturation/contrast than IPS panel after calibration?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

AaronC
    Participant

As the title says. I’m very new when it comes to Displaycal and colorimeters (I just purchased an i1display pro today, I’m a hobby artist/photographer).

For the most part the calibration went smoothly on both monitors, and if you’d like I could export the profiles or any tests from both.

It’d seem that my IPS panel, though, has less saturation (and contrast?) than the TN panel and I’m trying to understand why that is. I have no experience when it comes to reading any of the technical results from the color profiles so I don’t think I can personally extract much info from that. Ideally I’d like the monitors to be close to each other as they can, though obviously won’t be perfect because they’re different models and panels.

Is it because the contrast ratio is lower on my TN panel, and so it can’t display as nuanced of color contrast as the IPS panel? Is my IPS monitor somehow worse? Is it just differences in colors from being different models?

I’d love to hear any feedback or thoughts, and thanks in advance!

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Short explanation:

-panel gives you bits (gradation step), viewing angles and contrast at its native white

-backlight type (for panels that use backlight) gives you colorspace.

That means that you can get a 1000:1 IPS panel that has 60% sRGB coverage (unfortunately it’s happening in some laptops) and such panel can have a extremely cold cyan-blue white point. Using display OSD gains (desktop monitors) or GPU(laptops) to calibrate to D65, or D60, or D55 or D50 you may end with an after calibration 600:1 contrast ratio.