Testing & Reviewing Uncalibrated Monitors – Results Problem

Home Forums Help and Support Testing & Reviewing Uncalibrated Monitors – Results Problem

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

mikej86
    Participant

Hi!

Hopefully I’m posting in the right place.

I’m a writer and at the moment I’m working on a group test of four ~£150 monitors. I’ve used DisplayCAL with an i1 Display Pro for years, for testing monitors and laptops, but I’m encountering issues that I never have done before.

I’m using the latest version of DisplayCAL and these are the monitors that I am testing:

Acer KG221Q
    AOC G2460VQ6
    BenQ GL2580
    Iiyama G2530HSU-B1

They’re all TN panels.

I tested them all using the option to ‘Report on uncalibrated display device’. I went to the Log to get my results, and they were all fine, but three of the screens returned contrast measurements of below 200:1, with brightness levels that I expected but black levels at approximately 1.20cd/m2 or above.

I know they’re cheap monitors, but I could see visually that their contrast levels were not that low. I looked up existing reviews of the screens and consulted with a friend of mine who knows a lot about monitors (and who also uses DisplayCAL with an i1 Display Pro) and nothing seemed odd to him, but something is obviously wrong.

I was running DisplayCAL at its default settings to test the monitors at their out-of-the-box performance levels. I went through this page to make sure I’d done everything (https://www.xrite.com/service-support/poor_results_with_i1display_pro_on_pc) and made sure that the various settings that I could access in DisplayCAL were at either default or sRGB.

I thought that, perhaps, the PC I was using was the issue, so I tried on a different system – but the same thing happened. I switched to a laptop, and got much better contrast results from a couple of the screens, but then the results reverted to providing awful contrast levels.