Start to Finish Guidance – Dell 7590 OLED and Colormunki Smile

Home Forums Help and Support Start to Finish Guidance – Dell 7590 OLED and Colormunki Smile

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

IdiotSandwich
    Participant

I have a Dell XPS 15 7590 OLED laptop and a Colormunki Smile and I simply do not understand what I’m supposed to be selecting or doing to successfully calibrate my monitor. I tried tutorials, FAQ, and searching the forum but the starting point on everything was over my head. I’m a self-taught photographer reaching my limits here. Can some kind soul please walk me through it? I need the most simplified explanation possible, thanks!! I’ve attached what I’ve done but I don’t know what it means. Am I close to getting it right?

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Vincent
    Participant

1- Measurement device is not suited for that an OLED (supposted to be RGB OLED flavor), hence there may be some visual errors between measurements and what it should look like. For example white.

2-there is something terribly wrong if an OLED display reports 225:1 contrast. Measurement device may be a partial cause but user error/misconfiguration can play a role too. This second one seems the most probable.

3-What report says is that display behavior just after calibration (in profiling stage) does not match current behavior (when you made that report). This can go from automatic dimming (report says that brightness has changed since profiling)  to user misconfiguration like change in display mode or something in control panel / Dell own apps for that display laptop.

Try to figure what you did after you made DisplayCAL calibration & profile, because something changed.

IdiotSandwich
    Participant

Thank you so much for looking at my report! A few clarifying questions on your response if you don’t mind.