Settings for Dell U2520D

Home Forums Help and Support Settings for Dell U2520D

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Papayaman
    Participant

Hi. I am new to calibrating but think I atleast got the basics.
    For a Dell U2520D should I use the “LCD White LED family” or “LCD PFS Phosphor WLED Family” correction?
    Using a Calibrite Colorchecker Display for now but will get the Colorchecker Display Pro next week.

Dell specs say W-LED but afaik this is a wide gamut monitor so I’m unsure about this one.

Best regards.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon   Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Take a look at (ArgyllCMS command line “specplot myfilename.ccss”)
    https://colorimetercorrections.displaycal.net/hash/5db7b27d7f9b4bdbb99fd78adaf8c1be/Dell%2C%20DELL%20U2520D%20by%204KM%20%28i1%20Pro%202%29.ccss

Looks like a 95% P3 WLED PFS phosphor => bundled “Panasonic VVX17P051J00.ccss” in DisplayCAL, “Panasonic VVX17P051J00.edr” (PFS phosphor) in Xrite software.
    You can use this user made CCSS too.

Dell specs say W-LED but afaik this is a wide gamut monitor so I’m unsure about this one.

Unfortunately lots of vendors and webs label “W-LED” to a whole set of sets of displays with very different backlights. It’s like “mammal”, a mouse is a mammal but a whale is a mammal too.
    W-LED is just a name, a very generic & ambiguous one.

To avoid such misleading names here, in this forum, it’s common that users add surnames to that name so it is no longer ambiguous, for example:
    95% P3 WLED PFS => yours, “Panasonic VVX17P051J00” (green main wavelength is longer)
    P3 WLED PFS , Apple WLED PFS  => same tech as above but green main wavelength is a little shorter that above to give P3 green. CCSS is bundled in displaycal, no equivalent EDR in Xrite