Samsung Q60A QLED TV Calibration & Questions

Home Forums Help and Support Samsung Q60A QLED TV Calibration & Questions

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Dividian
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m new to the world of display calibration & have some questions.

1. Can the Samsung Q60A  series of TV be calibrated with a NEC SpectraSensor Pro ? (I mean is the panel’s  properties within the the colorimeter’s capabilities)?
    2. Out of the box, when  I play 4K videos from an Android box, I find that everything looks washed out. & so I started tweaking(), but no amount of tweaking the TV’s settings help. I am not sure where the problem lies…TV or Android box
    3.  But then, when I played the same 4K video via a Laptop connected to the TV, I find that it is not washed out. The TV also goes into some special “PC Mode” at that time.

I am very confused as I am not sure where the problem is  & that’s when I stumbled upon calibration.
    My idea is to check if calibration would help, if not, contact technical support.
    I would appreciate ideas & similar experiences, that you all might have had!

Jaylumx
    Participant

Samsung has HDMI black level – Auto, Normal (0-255/PC levels) or Low (16-235/TV levels).  Does changing that help with the washed out colours in your Android box?

Also what setting is your Android box?  If you are just using it to watch TV/Movies then ideally it should be  set to TV levels.

Vincent
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m new to the world of display calibration & have some questions.

1. Can the Samsung Q60A  series of TV be calibrated with a NEC SpectraSensor Pro ? (I mean is the panel’s  properties within the the colorimeter’s capabilities)?

If that colorimeter is a rebranded i1d3 it can measure whatever emisive RGB device you want as long as you provide a spectral power distribution sample (CCSS, portable) or a taylor made 3×3 matrix correction.