Resolve Workflow questions

Home Forums Help and Support Resolve Workflow questions

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Zoltan G
    Participant

Hi guys,

I’m quite new to profiling & calibration, but I was looking into it the last few days and sometimes all the options feel overwhelming in displaycal.

I have a Benq PD2700u, connected to a BMD Decklink and I’m use it for Color Grading in Rec.709/Gamma 2.4.

The 3D LUT  workflow with Resolve works great, but I have a few questions:

-Under the 3D LUT tab, do I need to check the “apply calibration (vcgt)” box? As the correction will be applied to the LUT, I don’t need to make a correction for the graphic cards, right?

-Input/Output encoding under the 3D LUT tab: Full range RGB or Rec.709?

I’ve attached my settings and I would really appreciate it if somebody would review them.

After the profiling/calibration process I did a verification and had a average delta E of 0,6, which is quite good. Just one color field had a delta E  of 3.94. Is this color field out of my displays gamut or why is there such a big aberration? I’ve attached my measurement report.

Thank you very much in advance!

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

you seem to be limiting your white level and black level to 16-235 in DisplayCAL – this will unnecessarily reduce contrast (Resolve already outputs correct levels through the Decklink card), set it to “Auto”. Also, set whitepoint to x y 0.3127 0.329 and calibration tone curve to “As measured”.

Under the 3D LUT tab, do I need to check the “apply calibration (vcgt)” box?

Yes, this option is generally always enabled and should stay like that.

As the correction will be applied to the LUT, I don’t need to make a correction for the graphic cards, right?

The graphics card is not involved if going through a Decklink card.

-Input/Output encoding under the 3D LUT tab: Full range RGB or Rec.709?