Red hue etc on MacBook Pro

Home Forums Help and Support Red hue etc on MacBook Pro

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

RickP
    Participant

Hi all,

I have seen this issue has been discussed before but i’m a bit of a novice so would really appreciate some help.

I have used my Colormunki Display to calibrate my external monitor (BenQSW240). This has worked very well and still gives very good results when sending images to print (I’m a photogpraher so do this regularly and am always happy with the results). My previous external monitor was the same – the calibration went well and it gave me very good results.

I calibrated my MacBook Pro screen with the same software and hardware but am getting a slight red cast to the images I see in all apps – Photoshop, Lightroom, Capture 1 and online. The highlights are also very slightly blown out. I subsequently used DisplayCAL and am getting what looks like the same result. I start with a linear profile and have chosen what I think is the correct screen type for my MacBook Pro 15-inch 2018 (PFS Phosphor) but cannot seem to get an accurate result.

I am happy to share any details of settings etc on here so feel free to ask away. Any help would be appreciated.

Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Kuba Trybowski
    Participant

Make sure that automatic brightness adjustment, True Tone, Night Shift and HDR are disabled:

RickP
    Participant

Thanks Kuba. I had already disabled those. I have been using this page as a guide up until now: https://www.xrite.com/service-support/poor_results_with_i1display_pro_on_mac

• This reply was modified 2 years, 7 months ago by RickP.

Kuba Trybowski
    Participant

Try to calibrate your Macbook according to this guide:

RickP
    Participant

Thank you. I’ll give that a try and report back : )

RickP
    Participant