REC 709 calibration

Home Forums General Discussion REC 709 calibration

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author

darklight
    Participant

Hi guys. im really new to this. Im currently working on an indy film and hoping i could setup a small color grading suite in my home.  Its my first time to calibrate and i just recently purchases a spyder 5 elite and hve tried using the spyder software using  rec 709 calibration setting. Somehow the colors feel way off.I already downloaded displaycal, and have tried calibrating more than 5 times with it and just recently i found out i needed to uninstall my spyder software first. I now uninstalled it and currently doing another calibration w a newly re-install displaycal again.

Anyway so far from all the 5 installations, theyve been giving me similar results.

Settings are:

–   video  3dLut – for resolve (d65) rec 709/ rec 1886

set at White led

auto correction and patches are set to about half the bar of about 2 hours and a half.

White and black compensations off

so far ive hit monitor measurements correctly in terms of monitor rgb and brightness control are on point.

i recently got this Viewsonic VP 2468 w/c is pretty good accurate IPS color monitor for a small budget

https://www.monitornerds.com/viewsonic-vp2468-review/

im using a macbookpro 15 inc touchbar i7 late 2018 w the latest videocards

with a black magic ultrastudio mini monitor attached to the external monitor

The problem im getting is that my external monitor seems calibrated based on the reports and ive also matched my laptop to it using the same settings.

BUT whenever i deliver an export of h264 or proress files, the contrast becomes too much and the blacks are too crushed.  it seems that my default COLOR lcd profile in ky laptop seems to be closer in terms of gamma and blacks on every exported (rendered) output file i make.