Photoshop, Resolve GUI, 1886. ICC and 3D LUT mismatch

Home Forums Help and Support Photoshop, Resolve GUI, 1886. ICC and 3D LUT mismatch

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Anton Meleshkevich
    Participant

Hi! Thank you for the awesome app!

I work as a colorist and I work mostly in Resolve. I prefer 1886 gamma. I use Windows 10 OS

I’m trying to match Resolve GUI to what I see in Photoshop and in online video players like Youtube or Vimeo. I want to be sure that at least contrast in online movie trailers is 1886 curve. So I could learn how to get correct contrast in my work. Contrast curve is the most critical and important thing in video color grading.

I know I should use declink to get correct colors when I work in Resolve, but at this moment I can’t use it for a couple of months.

I have read every thread I found using keywords like Resolve, 1886, Photoshop. I also read everything on the main page of DisplayCal. Of course I unchecked vcgt box. I used standard preset for Resolve, I did everything like in Resolve GUI calibration wiki page. I tried to use standalone app to create 3D LUT. I tried I think every combination of various”gamma”, “rendering intent” and “black point offset” settings. Every time contrast is different. Especially in shadows. Resolve is always more contrasty, more saturated. Using relative colorimetric I got the most similar hue (matrix I think). But no luck with contrast.

Could you please answer my questions?

1. If this is ok that Photoshop and Resolve GUI have different look after calibration (and profiling of course), which app I should trust? Which of them shows me 1886 gamma? Is 3D LUT and resolve GUI the one I should trust?