Newbie questions – please excuse

Home Forums General Discussion Newbie questions – please excuse

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Jimbob
    Participant

Hi all. Not very technical newbie here.

I’m using displayCal with an OEM i1 Display Pro.

I’m connected from a Macbook via DVI  to a Panasonic BT300 plasma by mirroring my desktop.

The plasma is usually fed with Rec 709 images from HD video sources so I only want to use displayCal to get a general line-up for the TV using the TV’s controls for 10 point whitebalance etc. I don’t yet have a way to apply a LUT to the chain but later I will get an eeColor LUT box.

Q1. Do I need to change settings on the TV (gamma, color temp,  bright/contrast) before startin with displayCal?

Q2. Doesn’t any existing profile on my Macbook interfere with calibration? Do I not need to switch existing profile off?

Q3. displayCal says my i1 needs to download  a correction suitable to my display. I let it do auto download but I don’t see any new preset appear in the dropdown list for corrections.

Q4. At the top of the window, the dropdown for settings, what should this be on for my first calibration?

thanks for any help

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

I only want to use displayCal to get a general line-up for the TV using the TV’s controls for 10 point whitebalance etc.

In case you can run Windows in Bootcamp on your Mac, you may want to look into HCFR which may be better suited to the job. DisplayCAL is geared towards ICC profiling and 3D LUTs.

Q1. Do I need to change settings on the TV (gamma, color temp, bright/contrast) before startin with displayCal?

You can, but it’s not a must. You should adjust the TV whitepoint during interactive adjustment though.

Q2. Doesn’t any existing profile on my Macbook interfere with calibration?

No.