Multi-point interactive adjustment

Home Forums General Discussion Multi-point interactive adjustment

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

elvis
    Participant

Firstly, many thanks for DisplayCal (and also to the authors of ArgyllCMS).  I’ve been using ArgyllCMS since around 2012 for scripted profiling and calibration of our VFX / Post Production studio monitors and software, and more recently DisplayCal for one-off calibrations where I don’t have our scripts and software pipeline handy. They’ve proved themselves excellently for quite a number of years, projects, and a variety of colorimeters and displays.

On occasion, I also use both tools for the interactive adjustment capabilities using monitor controls (useful when I need to calibrate a display that won’t be connected to a computer). I have two questions (and maybe requests):

1) When I choose an interactive adjustment for CRTs (I still use these personally), I get a black (bias) and white (gain) point temperature/RGB adjustment in both DisplayCal and ArgyllCMS. When I choose an interactive adjustment for any sort of LCD (Generic/CCFL/WhiteLED), I get both the black and white adjustment option in ArgyllCMS. In DisplayCal, the interactive adjustment for the black point is gone, and I can only adjust the white point. Some LCDs I calibrate offer 2-point bias/gain adjustment in their service menu, and it would be handy to have the option show up in DisplayCal. Is there a way to make it show up? And if not, can it be added? (I can screenshot this if my question doesn’t make sense).