Monitor and calibrator help

Home Forums Help and Support Monitor and calibrator help

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

SteveC
    Participant

Hi all,

I am a serious amateur photographer. I occasionally print images for family on an Epson SC-P600 and sometimes enter digital images in international photo comps. Sometimes they request images in AdobeRGB or sRGB. I may in the future submit print images to said competitions.  I used to use a Samsung 226BW and calibrated it with an i1 display 2. Eventually I could no longer calibrate it to 120cdm2, so swapped it for a Phillips 24V37 (srgb only) which was used on my wife’s computer. It is an IPS panel and listed in the specs as W-LED backlight. Graphics card is a GeForce 1650 Super.

I have borrowed a SpyderX Pro and calibrated it with both Datacolor s/w and DisplayCal, although I am not sure if I used DisplayCal correctly. With both systems it seemed to calibrate OK.

Considering I don’t do any serious gaming, my questions are, should I upgrade the monitor, (bearing in mind I am retired and on a pension) to a BenQ SW240 which is full AdobeRGB? I don’t  have room on my desk for anything larger that 24″. Nor can I spend thousands on the likes of an Eizo.

Second question is what calibrator? I have read the thread on calibrators and there is mention of X-Rite id3 but I do not know what that refers to as there is no such model on either X-Rite or Calibrite site.

Third question, should I calibrate for D65 or D50?

Fourth question, what brightness should I calibrate to?

TIA for any thoughts,

Steve

• This topic was modified 2 years, 6 months ago by SteveC.

SpyderX Pro on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Benq SW240 HW calibration software does not support its own backlight. Actually Benq software does not support any of the monitors in SW line.