MacBook Pro has a reddish tint after calibration

Home Forums Help and Support MacBook Pro has a reddish tint after calibration

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)
  • Author

jlink
    Participant

I know that this topic has been discussed often here and around the internet but mostly I find in connected to Spydes – not i1 Display Pros..

After the calibration and profiling I get a notable reddish tint on my Late 2018 MacBook Pro with P3 display.

I am calibrating and profiling with the Video (D65, Rec. 1886) Settings using a i1 Display Pro and the “Spectral LCD PFS Phosphor WLED IPS, 99% P3 (MacBook Pro Retina 2016)” correction.

I am profiling to XYZ Lut + Matrix with 1553 patches.

Automatic brightness and True Tone are switched off.

Also the profile looks totally okay when I run the verification.

Do I need to use the visual whitepoint editor and estimate?  Why? Sorry, if the reason is obvious – I am really new to display calibration..

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

jlink
    Participant

I think I am experiencing another issue: All blacks under 25 and all whites above 235 get crushed/are clipping. Is it because of the BT 1886 Gamma or is there something different going on?

Florian Höch
    Administrator

I think I am experiencing another issue: All blacks under 25 and all whites above 235 get crushed/are clipping.

That sounds like a levels issue. In which application(s) are you experiencing the problem? Note that Apple products do not support XYZ LUT profiles (3rd party software like Photoshop is not affected).

jlink
    Participant

Unfortunately I experience it in Premiere Pro (the newest version with color management as well as After Effects).

I am testing with the AVS HD 709 testpattern. (https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-display-calibration/948496-avs-hd-709-blu-ray-mp4-calibration.html)