LUT has "broken" blue

Home Forums Help and Support LUT has "broken" blue

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Rodrigo Silvestri
    Participant

Hi. I’m a colorist (film and video postproduction) and I’ve been using dispcalGUI since 2010 for profiling and calibrating video monitors and some computer displays. I have two old 1iDisplay2s and one i1DisplayPro.

I normally use DisplayCAL to the “Video 3D LUT for Resolve” setting, create a ~700 patches testchart, then profile the monitor, and finally I create a LUT with a custom made ICC profile using the Synthetic ICC tool and the 3DLUT Maker. Then I check the LUT in Resolve to see if it’s visually alright, and then perform some tests with HCFR.

This week, while trying to update the calibration LUTs for two video monitors I encountered a weird issue, and cannot find where it comes from. When checking a color ramp chart after applying the LUT, I see that the blue saturation scale is weird. I uploaded the original chart and a picture of the problem (taken with my phone, totally off any kind of similarity, but you can see what’s happening).

The rest of the LUT is perfect, greyscale is calibrated, gamma is OK, red, green and blue patches are in their respective places (one of the monitors has a wide gamut and I’m reducing it to Rec709).

I tried reducing my procedure (using standard Rec709 instead of synthetic ICC, use auto-optimized testcharts, use different testcharts (~200 to ~1500 patches), resetting the monitors settings and double-checking that there are no LUTs loaded anywhere.

I did this procedure in 2 different OSX computers, both running DisplayCAL 3.1.3.1, I tried the old and the new probes. The monitors I’m using are connected via SDI and HDMI through Blackmagic video cards, and have no internal LUTs, no dynamic contrast settings or anything similar. I have created many profiles for these monitors with no issues in the past, with the same color meters.