Low luminance after calibration

Home Forums Help and Support Low luminance after calibration

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

wonwnx
    Participant

Hello,

I am quite new to screen calibration, and I have a few questions. I hope you can resolve my doubts.

Basically, I have a laptop connected to a larger screen (Samsung SyncMaster 2443). The picture on this screen looks warmer compared to the integrated one. Also, it is less bright.

I am in the process of scanning a few photo albums and, since I have to manually adjust the color curves on some photos (the ink has become yellowish/reddish in many of them), I wasn’t sure which of my two monitors I should use as a reference, so I decided to borrow a calibrator (Spyder3pro) to make sure the colors are right. I don’t need to print them or anything, but I still want them to look consistent.

As I said, I am new to this, so I don’t know if I’m doing things right. My idea was to generate two profiles for each monitor, one for D50 (for photo editing) and another for D65 (for general use). I don’t know if that makes sense, or if a monitor can only be truly calibrated for one. At the start of the calibration using DisplayCal, it tells me to manually adjust the white point using the embedded screen menu, but if I adjust it for D50, then it will differ much more from what it expects for D65. So, first question: Is it ok to leave the screen RGB settings by default and let DisplayCal use these as base values for both D50 and D65?