Lost in calibration

Home Forums Help and Support Lost in calibration

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

George
    Participant

Hi,

I have an issue for which I am unable to find a solution, and I hope that I can get some suggestions.

As a nature photographer I recently purchased a Dell Precision 5520, with 4k display for travel, which is supposed to cover pretty much 100% of Adobe RGB. The Dell comes with a number of color profiles installed, and the default profile is a Dell Adobe RGB 6500 K profile. In doing an interactive calibration, I noticed that the white balance was way off, so I used the Intel graphics options to adjust RGB to a perfect white balance. After calibration I let DispCal set the new profile as a default, and the new profile does show up in the windows 10 color management, but it is not set as a default. This is only done after unchecking the option “use my settings for this device”. I have 2 issues. First, after every reboot this option is rechecked, and the Dell profile is set as a default.

And secondly, an issue which is completely throwing me off after a driver update for the Intel HD Graphics 630, is that the colors displayed are way off, often smeared out, as if a large blob of ink fell on the image. I redid a complete new calibration (interactive) but I am unable to produce acceptable colors. I have attached a few examples.

I’m trying to understand what is happening. What I assume is the following. I start from an existing profile, which I correct to have the correct white balance. Then I do a calibration, which is basically a correction to the existing profile, and not a correction to the color rendering of the display. Could that please be the reason?

What can I please do to resolve these issues? I highly appreciate all help that I can get.

Thank you very much,

George

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Bob Tiller
    Participant