LG 34WK95U Nano-IPS

Home Forums Help and Support LG 34WK95U Nano-IPS

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Aaron
    Participant

Hi,

I’m relatively new to profiling, so I appreciate any help you all can give.

I have an LG 34WK95U, a new “Nano IPS” monitor, which is supposedly similar to Quantum Dot, though I don’t know how similar.

I’ve been trying to create a profile for it and have noticed that I’m losing some details in the shadows, though it’s hard to say if they’re really supposed to be there or not.

I’m calibrating with an i1Display Pro. I’m using single curve + matrix on macOS (LUT appears to have the same problem for me) and I’ve tried most combinations of the corrections:

LCD RG Phosphor
    Panasonic VVX17P051J00
    LCD White LED (What X-rite recommended for this monitor, but that recommendation seems suspect)

and:

Black point correction on/off

With Black point correction on, I’m able to discern all squares on http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/black.php. With it off, 5 is the first visible one.

In both situations and seemingly regardless of the correction profile I end up with lost details in shadows. It almost looks like black crush from a VA monitor, but it’s not that.

Other details in case they’re relevant:

• My test is primarily Netflix on Safari as that’s one of my main uses of this computer where I care about reasonable color accuracy.
    • Energy saver is off
    • Auto dimming is off

I’ve attached a couple of profiles and a measurement report.

Any advice would be appreciated, thank you!

Aside, can I confirm that this is a reasonable way to visually match the white point between two monitors:

1. Open the Visual whitepoint editor on both monitors and full screen them.
    2. Set the monitor I’m matching TO to default (255/255/255)
    3. Adjust the monitor I’m matching until it visually matches
    4. Record a reading with i1DisplayPro