Is it worth it to update from Huey to Colormunki calibrator?

Home Forums Help and Support Is it worth it to update from Huey to Colormunki calibrator?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Baobab
    Participant

Hi all,

I’ve been using DisplayCAL with my fairly old Huey Pro calibrator (12 years old), and I’m wondering if it’s time to update or not (do calibrators “degrade” over time?).

Would I notice a significant improvement with the calibration results if I buy the Colormunki display? I’m also thinking about the new SyperX, a bit more expensive but still within my budget (any recommendations between the two?).

I intend to use exclusively DisplayCAL, so differences in software are not relevant, only the quality of the hardware used with DisplayCAL.

I’m not a professional photographer but still I do print a lot and for me it’s important to have decently calibrated displays.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Hi all,

I’ve been using DisplayCAL with my fairly old Huey Pro calibrator (12 years old), and I’m wondering if it’s time to update or not (do calibrators “degrade” over time?).

1-Yes, specially if you no longer use a CCFL sRGB display

2-Yes but some colorimeters age fast and others keep their accuracy for long time if properly stored. It depenss on materials and device construction.

Would I notice a significant improvement with the calibration results if I buy the Colormunki display?

Yes, and i1d3 family keep accuracy for years.

I’m also thinking about the new SyperX, a bit more expensive but still within my budget (any recommendations between the two?).

Read threads here. Short anwser: get an i1d3 like that Munki Display.

I intend to use exclusively DisplayCAL, so differences in software are not relevant, only the quality of the hardware used with DisplayCAL.