iMac Pro + LG UltraFine with i1 Display Pro. Match displays? Backlight tech?

Home Forums Help and Support iMac Pro + LG UltraFine with i1 Display Pro. Match displays? Backlight tech?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

jamespaulley
    Participant

Hi, I’ve read the FAQs and tried to read up and educate myself as much as possible, but I am new to calibration so apologies for any bad questions.

I have an iMac Pro and an LG UltraFine 27MD5KA. I’d like to get them to match as closely as possible. I’m using an i1 Display Pro.

• For the iMac Pro:
      • For “Correction” do I need to choose one of the PFS Phosphor settings? There are four to choose from, do I want “99% P3 (MacBook Pro Retina 2016)”, or perhaps the “94% P3”? There are also some available in the “online” options (if I click the globe icon), perhaps one of those is applicable?
      • This article from X-Rite states that the iMac Pro screen is “GB-LED (RG Phosphor)”, and the X-Rite software selects that by default for the iMac Pro. But I think this info is just incorrect or outdated?
        https://xritephoto.com/ph_product_overview.aspx/?ID=1473&Action=Support&SupportID=5904
    • For the LG UltraFine:
      • For correction do I want “PFS Phosphor WLED, 99% P3”? Again there are online options via the globe icon.
    • Do either of these displays support ADC?
    • Can I get these two displays to match, or is it going to be impossible as neither of them have built in hardware controls?

Thank you very much.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

do I want “99% P3 (MacBook Pro Retina 2016)”

Yes (all current iMac + MacBook Pro models).

For the LG UltraFine:

Somebody else will have to chime in.

Do either of these displays support ADC?

Doesn’t really matter as DisplayCAL doesn’t support ADC.

Can I get these two displays to match