HowTo Calibrate HDR Dynamic Scene Optimiser

Home Forums Help and Support HowTo Calibrate HDR Dynamic Scene Optimiser

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

adrjork
    Participant

Hi everyone, absolute newbie here. I have a Pana FZ800 that’s an OLED HDR TV that I’d use as reference monitor in Davinci Resolve.
    I’d like to calibrate the TV with DisplayCal, X-Rite i1 Display Pro, and Davinci.
    My question: which are the correct settings in DisplayCal to calibrate this HDR TV? And how can I calibrate correctly with Dynamic Scene Optimiser on (since it can’t be turned off)?
    Thanks for your help.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

My question: which are the correct settings in DisplayCal to calibrate this HDR TV? And how can I calibrate correctly with Dynamic Scene Optimiser on (since it can’t be turned off)?

I do not have this TV, but the general procedure for TVs where it is expected that the response will not be stable (like most if not all HDR TVs due to their tone mapping, dynamic backlight/OLED light and power saving features):

• (Resolve only) Make sure to use the “Resolve” preset as a base or set minimum display update delay to around 1000ms manually.
    • Disable creation of 3D LUT after profiling (on the 3D LUT tab).
    • Try a small profile (175 patches) with white level drift compensation enabled.
    • If profile self check delta E is high (above 1 for average or above 5 for peak), try to experiment with a different patch sequence (order), i.e. maximize luminance difference.
    • If that doesn’t help, try full field pattern insertion (you need ArgyllCMS 2.0.2b development snapshot for this).