How to set Displaycal to calibrate OLED pc monitor

Home Forums Help and Support How to set Displaycal to calibrate OLED pc monitor

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Mangus
    Participant

Hi, first post here.
    I’ve been using displaycal since a couple of years but now i have some issues.

I have a new Asus vivobook with a fantastic OLED panel ( ATNA40YK04-0 I think it’s a samsung panel).

I also have a Dell ultrasharp U2515H, which I always did calibrate with success.
    The OLED monitor is fantastic with a very wide gamut coverage but I noticed that there is a little but clearly visible color shift toward yellow, if seen against the Dell one, even after calibration.
    I also tried it against another desktop Philips monitor (lower quality but still 98% srgb coverage): philips and dell have the same color rendition after calibration but the OLED vivobook one seems slightly yellowish if seen along each of the other two.

I use Ubuntu 22.10 with a datacolor SpyderX and displaycal 3.8.9.3 flatpak.

I think I’m setting something wrong with the oled one (or with the other two XD )
    Could someone explain clearly if with oled monitor should be used some specific settings?

BTW, clearly I cannot set the white point on the notebook’s panel due to the lack of that kind of controls on the hardware. Maybe this is the problem, in which case, how can I overcome it? (I need this notebook to be color accurate as I use it for photography).
    I also tried different modes: “generic” and “lcd white led” but with almost the same results.

Thank you for any help and excuse me for my english.

SpyderX Pro on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

Spyders are innacurate and cannot be corrected in a distributed way, you’ll need to buy or rent an spectrophotometer (400 euro onwards) or live with the inaccurate corrections bundled in SpyderX, or rertun it and get an Xrite i1d3.