How to I pick the profile type best for me?

Home Forums Help and Support How to I pick the profile type best for me?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author

Anonymous
    Inactive

Hi,

I’m getting pretty confused about profile type. I have spent hours trying to find information about what is different between LUTs, curves, single curve… I’m still lost as to which is the best for me.

I’m not a professional requiring colour accuracy, I don’t use any photo editing software, or anything fancy. I am just an enthusiast who wants good colours for his screen.

What I recall from my searches were something like “if you have a TN panel, use XYZ LUT”, something about having to disable black tone correction if you use this or that profile type. Many sources online specify to use single curve + matrix, without saying why. I also read that LUTs are better for accuracy but less compatible. How less compatible are they? Is the difference of accuracy that big?

While I could ask you guys what would be the best profile type for me (you can tell me directly, I have a TN panel, only using Chrome and programming/gaming on my machine. I have a ColorMunki Display), I think it should be documented somewhere. Maybe a flowchart, letting beginners know which to pick.

I’m trying to pick the best profile type for me, but the lack of easy to understand documentation leaves me really confused, I would really appreciate if someone could explain the pros and cons of each profile type I can pick. Should I absolutely pick one over the other if I use certain software, certain display types, use cases ? Otherwise, a recommandation for my specific setup would be appreciated as well

Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

I recommend using the defaults.

Anonymous
    Inactive