Help Setting White Point through NVIDIA Control Panel

Home Forums Help and Support Help Setting White Point through NVIDIA Control Panel

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

mayhewrb SourceForge

Hello,

I’m new to the software and am struggling to complete even a simple calibration. I am using a laptop, Lenovo W510, and can find no way to complete the first portion of calibration – setting the white point. As far as I can tell, the way to do this in a laptop is via the video card, in this case a NVIDIA Duadro FX 880M. However, when I open the control panel and make changes to the RGB values during calibration, the screen resets to the native coor profile before my colorimeter (Spyder5) can register any changes to the screen. Has any one else had a similar problem, or know of a solution?

Thanks,
    Rob

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

I am using a laptop, Lenovo W510, and can find no way to complete the first portion of calibration – setting the white point

It’s not possible. You have to skip this part of interactive adjustment.

nolo2016 SourceForge

Sorry Florian, but that is not true.
    You can adjust the white balance at the interactive adjustment if you have an Intel Onboard graphics card for example.
    The color settings in the Intel graphic card menu are not connected to an ICC profile.
    You just need to adjust the “Contrast” Setting of RGB to get them identical at 6500K.
    Dispcal in this case wont reset the value like it is the case when you use the internal Windows calibration feature for example, which is indeed connected to a ICC profile.
    With this method I created a very nice 3D LUT without a distorted white point 🙂

nolo2016 SourceForge

Also I forgot to mention, that most Notebooks with a Nvidia graphic card and Intel Cpu mostly have the mentioned Intel Onboard Graphic.