Help on calibrating my MSI MAG274QRF-QD

Home Forums Help and Support Help on calibrating my MSI MAG274QRF-QD

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

NRANM
    Participant

Hello,

First and foremost, please keep in mind that I’m extremely new to this so please forgive any errors I make when describing my issue.

I’m not sure I’ve calibrated my monitor correctly, and I would appreciate some advice. I’m using a Calibrite ColorChecker Display device. I reset my monitor to its factory settings, then switched from “Premium Color” to “User”. In DisplayCAL, I selected the “sRGB” settings, and for correction I used the “LCD PFS Phosphor WLED family” profile. During measurement, I was of course asked to tweak my color settings to match what DisplayCAL is expecting. The problem is that as soon as I select “Customization” for color temperature, the entire screen becomes significantly dimmer, even though the brightness slider remained at the same position. Even at maximum brightness, the screen was still dimmer than when using any of the other, pre-defined color temperature settings. I did manage to achieve the desired brightness by DisplayCAL by increasing the monitor’s brightness to 100, and also increasing the contrast from 70 to 80.
    After the calibration was complete, I used the novideo_srgb tool for NVIDIA graphics cards to clamp the gamut to sRGB based on the ICC profile created.

Here are my questions…
    Since I want a standard gamut, not a wide one,  was I correct to use the sRGB settings in DisplayCAL?
    What would you guess would be a better approach: the described above with using novideo_srgb, or to clamp the gamut in the monitor’s settings, calibrate that, and keep using the monitor’s option?