Had issues setting up Lenovo Yoga

Home Forums Help and Support Had issues setting up Lenovo Yoga

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

RayW
    Participant

First I will describe my setup and what my intended use is for DisplayCal.

I have a Lenovo Yoga (720-15IKB) Laptop with a UHD (3840 x 2160) IPS LED Multitouch screen. Device manager shows it installed as a generic PNP monitor. All monitor setting are software driven. This is also running Windows 10

I am an intermediate photographer and desire to prepare all my photos for printing. I do not upload any to the web anymore, although I would like my web viewing to look nice as well. I intend on doing photo editing with open source software. Such as GIMP, Darktable, and Rawtheropy. I am leaning more to Darktable for most of my needs.

For now I have to go outside my home to have the printing done as I only have an inkjet printer and do not like using those for photos. For 8×10 and lower I just go to a kodak Kiosk, For larger prints I go to a small print shop. My problem has always been getting the photos looking good on the monitor to only have them to dark, light, or slightly wrong tinted at print. Although they still look good.  I would always eyeball the color settings using a web sight with a gama chart and then the built in Windows color management Guide for Brightness and contrast.  When it came to removing to much tint of RGB, I am unable to do so as my eyes are not that good.

I was finally able to start looking into Monitor calibration tools. I went with the Spyder5 Express package, after reading into it for awhile. IThat reading into it brought me to Displaycal. All reviews said to forgo the included Datacolor software and install Displaycal and Argyll. I purchased the Spyder5 yesterday and that is the start point in playing around with any of this.