Getting Started (LG VA 95% Dci-p3) – SpyderX

Home Forums Help and Support Getting Started (LG VA 95% Dci-p3) – SpyderX

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Mike88
    Participant

Hello,
    I bought a SpyderX pro, did different calibration also on my notebook to test it but I’ve preferred to use Displaycal for a more accurate calibration.
    My main pc monitor is a 32″ LG32UK550 VA HDR10 Panel 60hz with specified Gamut of 95% Dci-p3 and in fact with SpyderX pro software it tells me the same after calibration (95% dpi 100% srgb gamut).

For the wider gamut I use “custom” mode on the monitor OSD where I can also set the RGB value to match the whitepoint better. Then I calibrate it also with “REC709” mode (only brightness adjustment available) to match almost sRGB color space only because mostly I edit video and post photo on the net, no printing. 100cd my target brightness for both. >Seems to work. (but in fact I’m new to calibration at all)

I usually set my target white point 6500k and 100cd, gamma 2,2. and then i select the “slow” calibration process. I use rgb range 0-255 for the wider gamut and 16-255 for srgb/rec709 (also because the monitor lock black level to high level in this mode.)
    I’ve always used generic setting for the display, don’t know if I have to use WLED or anything different, cannot achieve info of my specific panel.

If I check the accuracy of the REC709 profile with srgb I get “OK vv”  on the html report and seems to be fine, don’t know by the way if I’m doing it right or not.
    I have few questions:

1. For the monitor “REC709” which mode I have to choose on DisplayCal to calibrate it properly also for the gamma, considering I edit 8bit video and use lightroom to post on Instagram? srgb is my target and for what I know is the same space color with different gamma. Have to target 6500K?
    2. Wider gamut: what’s the right settings to achieve the best result for color accuracy?