First timer to Calibration- using Spyder5 and DisplayCal

Home Forums Help and Support First timer to Calibration- using Spyder5 and DisplayCal

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

meshcarver
    Participant

Hi all.

I’m a concept artist who for the the first time decided to buy equipment to Calibrate my monitor- an NEC MultiSynch 24WMGX3. The equipment I used is the Spyder5 Express.

My monitor’s about 14 years old but still in good shape. All my work is for viewing on monitors- there’s nothing I ever print out.

I followed this tutorial to the letter, except when asked for the Mode I selected Generic LED:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMJnVmfChX4

The Calibration definitely worked, as when given the option to toggle on and off the Profile the difference was huge. Everything’s more yellow, less blues, saturation is less- in fact the difference is so much that I’m not sure I can trust it? I selected “Load calibration on login and preserve calibration state” anyway, so now, every time I boot up Win 10 after 5-6 seconds I see the colours all change on my desktop so I know it’s using it.

My absolute priority is in Photoshop as that’s where I do nearly all of my work, so how do I know if what I’m now seeing in Photoshop is 100% (Or near as possible!) correct please?

Is there anything I need to actually load/set in Photoshop?

As things stand- right now everything might be set up and displaying proper calibration, I just don’t know, so I”m asking here to see if there’s anyone who can explain to me exactly what steps I need to take so I can test it myself and check it’s ok? I’m not very technically minded so need baby steps through this process really- the terms and phrases etc.

In a nutshell- how can I be sure the calibration worked correctly and also how to tell if what I’m now seeing in Photoshop is as correct as it can be?