Do I need to calibrate my monitor in HDR mode?

Home Forums Help and Support Do I need to calibrate my monitor in HDR mode?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

hengisme3
    Participant

So I’m a super newbie here. I have a ColorMunki Display which I used on my new LG 27GL850 on default preset settings to really good results for everyday use.

The monitor “supports” HDR although it’s only 350 nits.

I read that HDR movies should at least look as good as the SDR version with a better colour gamut even if the screen does not support higher nits for meaningful HDR. But when I tested HDR Blu-ray movies on the screen they looked notably worse than the SDR versions of the same movie did.

Am I supposed to also calibrate the HDR mode somehow, and have a profile set up on DisplayCal just for the HDR mode? If so, what settings should I use? I’m assuming “Default” wouldn’t quite work the same for this.

Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

But when I tested HDR Blu-ray movies on the screen they looked notably worse than the SDR versions of the same movie did.

How did you watch the BD, i.e. which player? I take it you use madVR as video renderer?

Am I supposed to also calibrate the HDR mode somehow

Usually this doesn’t work well, because in HDR mode, the monitor will do its own tone mapping which messes with calibration. You could calibrate & profile the monitor in its widest gamut mode and highest brightness in SDR, and then rely on madVR to do tone and gamut mapping (either via shader “HDR to SDR” + 3D LUT, or specific “HDR to SDR” 3D LUT).

hengisme3
    Participant

Hi,

But when I tested HDR Blu-ray movies on the screen they looked notably worse than the SDR versions of the same movie did.

How did you watch the BD, i.e. which player? I take it you use madVR as video renderer?

Am I supposed to also calibrate the HDR mode somehow