Display’s whitepoint at 8000K instead of 6500K

Home Forums Help and Support Display’s whitepoint at 8000K instead of 6500K

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Ralphy4
    Participant

I am trying to calibrate my laptop screen as well as an external display for the very first time. As I have no experience with color calibration, I am very confused about many things. One of them is:

The Internet says one should calibrate a monitor to D65 (apparently that means 6500K, daylight temperature, so quite cold). DisplayCAL allows adjusting the RGB sliders of the monitor’s OSD menu before starting the calibration process.

Leaving the whitepoint setting at “as measured” and my monitor’s RGB setting at default the whitepoint is shown at something quite a bit higher than 6500K (like 7200K or so, looking warmish). Adjusting to 6500K makes it look crazy warm, not anything like daylight (I have Night Shift switched off). Similar with my MacBook Pro’s display: its whitepoint is at 8000K looking perfectly fine, like daylight).

So, is my eyesight off? Why is 6500K looking so warm? Is it my room lighting (although I tested different setups  including no lighting at all, and it all looks the same).

Vincent
    Participant

I am trying to calibrate my laptop screen as well as an external display for the very first time. As I have no experience with color calibration, I am very confused about many things. One of them is:

Tool, display model and configuration missing. For example colorimeters need a correction for each backlight type/family, without proper correction measured values are not real. Same for 10nm spectrophotometers reading some “difficult” backlights like P3 macs.

The Internet says one should calibrate a monitor to D65 (apparently that means 6500K, daylight temperature, so quite cold). DisplayCAL allows adjusting the RGB sliders of the monitor’s OSD menu before starting the calibration process.