Difficulty understanding verification results

Home Forums Help and Support Difficulty understanding verification results

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Carlitos
    Participant

I’m calibrating a 2017 iMac and an iMac from 2009 with a recently purchased Colormunki Display.  I regularly use FCPX, Davinci Resolve, Lightroom, Photoshop and After Effects to a lesser degree.  I have no experience calibrating a monitors.  To simplify things I tried to follow this article as closely as possible:

How to Calibrate iMac and iMac Pro Displays

So far the 2009 iMac is visibly much better but I really don’t understand the Measurement Report and  I’m getting the following less than ideal result.  All other results seem to fall within standards:

Measured vs. display profile whitepoint ΔE*00 of 2.03

I’ve uploaded a copy of the full report.

Some questions:

Does the article I referenced give good/accurate advice that will give me good results?

Is there better advice somewhere specific to my needs that is simple and easy to understand?

Why, after calibrating, am I still getting a less than ideal result?  What does it mean?  Is it worth addressing?

Thanks in advance.  I did search the forum but didn’t find exactly what I was looking for.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Calibrite Display SL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

1- I’m not sure if that CCMX correction is what you want.
    -Very old CCFL widegamut iMacs are like Dell U2711, so they need WGCCFL correction (CCSS) to i1d3 devices like yours
    -Older LED sRGB iMacs need bundled WLED correction (CCSS) or an WLED-like CCSS correction from community. Since DIsplayCAL has now a built-in spectral distribution CCSS plot, use it (it should be WLED-like)
    -Newer retina P3 iMacs need a P3 WLED PFS phosphor CCSS. There is one bundles in DisplayCAL for those Mac