Create LUT Based On Mac Display

Home Forums Help and Support Create LUT Based On Mac Display

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Sherlock
    Participant

Can someone tell me how to create a LUT based on the Macbook display “HD 709-A”? I color graded an entire film on Davinci Resolve while having HD 709-A selected as the display color profile instead of the default “Color LCD”.  So I want to create a LUT that converts from this to that.

I just need a step by step process because I’m new to Display Cal. Thanks 🙂

Vincent
    Participant

Yuo need to redo all your work since your work is currently saved (or configured to be saved) as if it was encoded in a Display P3 screen that no other people will have.

Anyway, since you asked:

-For DisplayP3 content to Rec709 device (reverse what you did, possible with colorspace clipping), go to LUT3D creator
    source : DisplayP3
    destination : Rec709
    You should add it and preview it as “working/effect” LUT3D.

-To grade as you should have done:
    source: Rec709
    destination: a display profile that actually captures how your display behaves. You you “trust” that deiver/default ICC for mac is accurate, use that one (DisplayP3, Color LCD or whatever it is named)
    Configure it as display LUT3D in resolve as explained in FAQ

Sherlock
    Participant

I think there’s a misunderstanding. I don’t want to convert from Display P3 (color LCD) to Rec 709…the differences between the colors of a Mac to iPhone to Windows is very slight that it doesn’t bother me.

I want to convert from 2 different color profiles in the mac itself…I’ll attach photos.

Is that how you understood it? Because maybe I didn’t understand what you were trying to say.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Vincent
    Participant

MacOS itself does not support LUT3D or device link as display profiles system wide. Some apps can support it internally (as in Windows)