Convert ICCv4 profile into something usable?

Home Forums Help and Support Convert ICCv4 profile into something usable?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Florian Höch 6 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

CaptainTux
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m a hobby/semi-professional photographer who recently switched to Ubuntu and I have been looking for a solution to color-correct my display.

I’ve created an ICC profile for my display previously on Windows and kept the file, but I can’t use it anymore, since the DisplayCAL GUI displays an error because it can’t load ICCv4 profiles. Unfortunately, I also don’t have a color meter to create a new profile anymore at the moment.

Is there any way to convert my old file into anything usable by DisplayCAL or could I download another configuration to use for my display somewhere? (Not aiming for 100% accuracy, just better than the default settings.)

• This topic was modified 6 months, 2 weeks ago by  CaptainTux.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Hi,

Is there any way to convert my old file into anything usable by DisplayCAL

Possibly. Attach the profile please.

CaptainTux
    Participant

Hi Florian,

thanks for your quick reply! I’ve attached the icc-profile for you, it’s from a Dell U2913WM monitor.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Florian Höch
    Administrator

Attached a ICCv2 version of the profile.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

CaptainTux
    Participant

Hi Florian! Thank you so much, that actually works perfectly. You’re a hero! May I ask how you managed to convert that profile?

I also noticed that DisplayCAL wouldn’t let me use the profile without an attached color meter. Is that correct or did I do something wrong? I activated it via dispwin now and added it to my startup scripts.