Colours changing before calibration

Home Forums Help and Support Colours changing before calibration

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author

fleuret50
    Participant

Hi,

Firstly I must say that I’m new in screen calibration. I recently bought a second-hand Datacolor Spyder4 Pro, and I’m trying to calibrate an iiyama ProLite X2474HS-B1 monitor connected to a MacBook Pro 15,2 (2019) running macOS Catalina and using DiplayCAL 3.8.9.3 and ArgyllCMS 2.3.0. I’m particularly interested in high-contrast B&W photography.

To do so, I’ve used the following parameters:

• Settings: Default (Gamma 2.2)
    • Instrument mode: LCD (generic)
    • Correction: Spectral LCD White LED family (AC, LG, Samsung)
    • Whitepoint to 6500 K
    • White level to 120 cd/m2
    • Tone curve: Gamma 2.2
    • Calibration speed: High
    • Profile quality: High
    • Testchart: Auto-optimized with 175 patches
    • Calibration was done at night, with no light coming at the monitor. All dynamic parameters were turned off in macOS preferences.

I ended up with a profile that, once loaded for my monitor colour settings in macOS, displays a green tint all over the screen. In particular, when looking at a B&W photography, the grey seems “greenish”.

What is really intriguing me is that, with the profile loaded and when I start a new calibration, there is a noticeable change in the colours displayed BEFORE the calibration process begins. You can see it (I hope) on the two images attached: 1) with the profile loaded; and 2) with the profile loaded and the “Interactive display adjustment” running. On the second image, the black and white seems not greenly tinted. Indeed, that change also happens when running the Verification process.

Does anyone knows why there is a change in the colours displayed when running the calibration process? Doesn’t it affect the calibration process itself?

I also attach the profile generated and the verification file. Any help would be appreciated!