Color Management Confusion

Home Forums Help and Support Color Management Confusion

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Plekuz
    Participant

I am fairly new to this game and getting more and more confused about color management. Hopefully some of you can clear some things up for me.

I am using DisplayCAL for Windows10 with an i1Display Pro on a Dell U2720Q monitor. The profiling is towards an ICC v2 profile with 6500K temp, 120 cd/m2 and 2.2 gamma. The profile is XYZ LUT + matrix. The monitor is an 8bit + frc IPS monitor. I have put my RTX2070 Super videocard on 10 bit and set Photoshop on 30 bit in Performance – Advanced graphic card settings. Tried with 8/24 bit settings as well.

The main confusion is this: when I have profiled my monitor, should images not look the same in every piece of software that uses color management?

The reason why I am asking this is that when I open an image with sRGB profile in Photoshop and export that image to a PNG and set it as a background image, the colors come out more saturated on the desktop than they look inside Photoshop. Does not matter if I embed the profile or set conversion to sRGB (which the image already is, so that would be useless anyway I guess). I either have to turn down saturation down 20 points in Photoshop or as a better solution convert it to my monitor profile and export it without sRGB conversion or embedded profile to get the same colors on my desktop as within Photoshop. Using proofing in Photoshop with the calibrated monitor profile helps a lot as well.