Checking uncalibrated colour accuracy

Home Forums Help and Support Checking uncalibrated colour accuracy

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Rune
    Participant

Hi, I am a complete newbie and hope to get some help regarding my questions.

I have two laptops home for evaluation, and I would like to pick the one that has the best colour accuracy and the widest colour gamut. I will use the laptop for photo editing.

I have an X-Rite i1 Display Pro and installed latest version of Displaycal on both laptops.

I am not interested in creating a calibration file, I just want a measurement report that tells me the colour accuracy and so on for these laptop displays.

I don’t know where to find the saved calibration files so I just attached a screenshot of the .icm file.

The colour accuracy numbers on the bottom seem too low to be realistic, are these from the uncalibrated display?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Vincent
    Participant

-need an accurte spectral correction for laptop backlight, otherwise readings won’t be accurate
    As a general rule sRGB only or less : White LED correcton
    Widegamut led laptops can have a wide range of backlights. For a P3 display without adobeRGB green choose WLED PFS 95% p3 (filename Panasonic VVX…)
    These two are bundled in display cal, just import auto corrections from tools menu.
    To be sure you’ll need at least an xrite spectrophotometer and make a CCSS using high res mode (3nm)

-One you have this pre requisite and you configured proper spectral correction on device tab, validate using a simulation profile to whatever “modes/preset” it has if any (Display P3 D65, sRGB… etc) and “check use simulation profile as display profile” (disabling whatever GPU calibration you have during test).