Calibration Tools (Colorimeter) Choice + Understanding

Home Forums General Discussion Calibration Tools (Colorimeter) Choice + Understanding

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

iarik-chan
    Participant

I decide between the following:

1. Calibrite ColorChecker Display Plus
    2. Calibrite Display Pro HL
    3. Calibrite Display Plus HL
    • Price is not a dominant factor – I need a “decent” display callibration device for a long-term use.
    • At this point I am almost complete noobie and possess “oldish” Dell XPS 9560 UHD (Test 1, Test 2) + a Huion Kamvas Pro 16 (Test)… But I aim to become more profficient and eventually upgrade devices.
    • At this point, I need to calibrate both of the above, but primarily Dell’s Display
    • Will appreciate critical review of 1,2,3 tools (+ any other suggestions)

I also have some general questions on aspects I don’t quite get (and I try to obtain a solid understanding so will be extremely grateful if you provide details):
    [Q1]. Will I be able to realize (use) 2 properly callibrated displays simultaneously?
    [Q2]. As it seems to me (sorry if it sounds stupid), “calibration” can be aimed on:
    i) either adjusting what you are “sending” your monitor to (based on how it “physically” responds)
    ii) or changing how it responds to each input (of course, you can’t alter physical components, but only their responsiveness, as to say)
    In both cases, I don’t get why we can’t just link all the colors (of all relevant models & bit depths) to the best possible output in terms of color accuracy. Is this a “too” lot to handle? I suppose, my question can be “practically” formulated as “why we use color profiles for calibration and not always 3D LUTs”…As well as: “do I callibrate to some target color space or uniformly”?

Thanks in advance!

Vincent
    Participant

1 ) old munki display, same limitations AFAIK.