Calibration Recommendation

Home Forums Help and Support Calibration Recommendation

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

wtester7
    Participant

Hello there,

I am pretty new to calibration and wanted to ask some advice from the experts.

I own a factory pre-calibrated Asus PA246Q CCFL Wide Gamut Monitor with 3 different modes ( Standard ( Biggest Gamut ), AdobeRGB and sRGB ) and a i1 Display Pro, I calibrate all 3 modes. I also sit in a room, close to a window with natural sun light (no lamps) and using the standard settings 6500K, 120cd/m2 and Gamma 2.2 for calibration.

Which day time would be the best for monitor calibration? 12 pm (Noon) when the sunlight shines through the window or 12 am (Midnight) when there is no light source, a completely dark room ? I search on the web and didn’t find a definitive conclusion on that matter, but at night I get better average and maximum deltaE results…

Should I use the standard  WGCCFLFamily_07Feb11.ccss  colorimeter correction (which is also used in the i1Profiler software) or are the Colorimeter Corrections from the DisplayCal Database better? Here is the link:
    https://colorimetercorrections.displaycal.net/?get&type=ccss&manufacturer_id=ACI&display=PA246&instrument=i1%20DisplayPro%2C%20ColorMunki%20Display%2C%20Spyder4&html=1
    These corretion use the GretagMacbeth i1 Pro spectrophotometer and are for my monitor model, so I assume these are more accurate than the standard WGCCFLFamily_07Feb11.ccss  ???

I am a bit confused about Asus pre-calibrated factory settings, because my calibration settings are absolutely different. On this model I use the factory/service menu trick to be able to change the R G B values, otherwise it’s locked. For example,

Asus factory pre-calibration settings are:
    Standard Mode (  Biggest Gamut ): R 89 , G 66, B 90 , Brightness 50 Default
    AdobeRGB Mode: R 53 , G 46, B 66, Brightness 50 Default
    sRGB Mode: R 59 , G 45, B 72, Brightness 50 Default