Calibration for printing photos

Home Forums Help and Support Calibration for printing photos

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

adrjork
    Participant

Hi everyone, perhaps this is not a new topic (in that case, please address me to the discussion, thanks).
    The problem is the difference of brightness between a printed photo and the same photo on the screen: on the screen, the same image is much brighter. The printer (Blurb) simply says keeping the screen’s brightness around 60-70%. I’m a newbie, of course, but I have an Xrite i1 Display Pro, so I suppose I can obtain a more precise result using DisplayCAL. Anyway, in DisplayCAL I found out the setting PHOTO (D50, Gamma 2.2) and I set it, but I can’t find anything about brightness…
    So my question: could you very kindly tell me a step-by-step guide to calibrate my screen in order to obtain the same/near luminosity as the printer?

Thanks a lot.

Calibrite Display Pro HL on Amazon  
    Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

adrjork
    Participant

ERRATA CORRIGE: I’D LIKE TO CHANGE MY FORMER QUESTION

The problem is the difference of brightness between a printed photo and the same photo on the screen: on the screen, the same image is much brighter. The printer service (Blurb) simply says keeping the screen’s brightness around 60-70%. I’m a newbie, of course, but I have an Xrite i1 Display Pro, so I suppose I can obtain a more precise result using DisplayCAL.

Now, I’ve chosen PHOTO setting in the first tab of DisplayCAL.
    1. Whitepoint: is 5000K by default, is it safe for printing purpose?
    2. White level: many photographers recommends 80 cd/m2, whilst Saal instead says 90 cd/m2… Which is better if the printer service won’t give you any parameter?
    3. Black level: should I let it unselected?
    4. Tone curve: is good letting Gamma 2.2 when working in a “darkish” ambient? (i.e. evening light from the window)
    5. Testchart: auto-optimized?