Calibrating without creating colorprofiles

Home Forums Help and Support Calibrating without creating colorprofiles

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Toni
    Participant

Hello
    I’m new to this entire topic but because I’m about to buy a new monitor I wanted to spend some time in calibrating my old monitors so they would be a bit in sync with my new one. So I bought a SpyderX, but now I’m running in some issues.

old Asus PA246 – Wide Color Gamut:
    It has different color profiles:
    -sRGB which looks ok but I can’t change any colors in the OSD and SpyderX says white is way to red (since I can’t change anything, I can’t use it)
    -UserColor which has a super bright (feels almost purple) red but I can change colors. So used this for calibration

Issue:
    I changed the gain to get a perfect white, then I let the calibration process run though and and the reds were still “unpleasant”. Faces were too red. The new color profile made it even more red. If I disable the profile, its less red but still way to much. I’m now guessing the white is good but the greys are too red. I also run the validation system with lots of colors and it showed that everything is “good”.

I’m not sure how much the “wide gamut” has an influence to this. Unfortunately there was no correction profile available for the Asus PA246.
    I actually expected that the measuring of the actual output colors and creating  the profile would solve all these issues. On top of that it seems using icc profiles for monitors is kinda unreliable as not every software supports it (as mentioned everywere already – and it looks like IrfanView does not care as well :/ )

question:
    Since the Monitor has SixAxis Hue/Saturation, Offset and Gain settings, I was wondering if its possible to calibrate/improve the monitor without creating an icc profile? Maybe some mode which loops though different greys while I’m adjusting the sliders on the monitor to reach neutral values.